ontolog-forum
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: [ontolog-forum] Current Semantic Web Layer Cake

To: "[ontolog-forum]" <ontolog-forum@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
Date: Sat, 04 Aug 2007 20:57:17 -0400
Message-id: <C2DA98AD.100AA%Frank.Guerino@xxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
Hello All,

I’ve been watching this thread for a while and figured I’d throw in some extra info.

My background is that I used to run Architecture and Engineering in some of the largest and well known financial firms in the world.  I now run a firm that builds Software as a Service (SaaS) solutions that wrap up Web 2.0, Semantic Web (Web 3.0), SOA, etc. to deliver solutions to enterprises through the internet.  In light of this, I hope my contributions are found useful.

The Definition of Semantic Web

First, for those who may not be familiar with what Semantic Web (a.k.a. Web 3.0) is, it is the term created by Tim Berners-Lee, the man who invented the (first) World Wide Web.

Semantic Web (or Web 3.0) is a place where machines can read Web pages, very much the same way humans read web pages (processing data and information, interpreting context, and creating knowledge). Semantic Web is a place where search engines and software agents can more effectively crawl, index, understand, and interact with the Net and find, manipulate and understand what we're looking for. It's based on a set of standards, such as the Relationship Descriptive Format (RDF) and the Web Ontology Language (WOL but many times referred to as "OWL"). Fundamentally, it implies that the web, itself, will act as an endless database that is linked by many systems that know how to leverage this structure and interact with each other.

NOTE: It is also assumed that Web 3.0 will incorporate all the traits of Web 2.0, as defined by O'Reilly in the article: http://www.oreillynet.com/pub/a/oreilly/tim/news/2005/09/30/what-is-web-20.html

How this all applies to the so called “Layer Cake”...