ontolog-forum
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: [ontolog-forum] A Question About Logic

To: Thomas Johnston <tmj44p@xxxxxxx>, Pat Hayes <phayes@xxxxxxx>
Cc: "[ontolog-forum]" <ontolog-forum@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
Date: Sun, 18 Oct 2015 20:23:19 +0000 (UTC)
Message-id: <1376337004.2113953.1445199799796.JavaMail.yahoo@xxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
Please ignore the text below, which begins "10/17/2015". It was a working draft, and I didn't mean to post it. The reply I want to post follows immediately below, and ends with that "10/17/2015".

10/18/2015.
Pat,
You said:
<<<Frankly, this looks to me like a non-solution to a non-problem. Sorry to be so blunt. >>>
No problems. You're a logician, and I'm not. Nonetheless, I have some background in the philosophy of logic. And I think that this exchange is worth pursuing, if just a little further. That is, worth it to me, and possibly worth it to a few others here at OntoLog. And worth it to you, because I think you've made a mistake about "some" and "exists".

And here's a passage from the SEP article Ontological Commitment, which you recommended to me. It suggests that I have not been describing a "non-solution to a non-problem".

" ... the quantifiers of first-order logic, properly understood, do not carry existential commitment; they are not 'existentially loaded'. Indeed, calling 'Ex' the 'existential quantifier' is a misnomer; it would be better to call it the 'particular quantifier' in contrast with the 'universal quantifier'. Ordinary language, on its face, supports the view that quantification need not be existentially loaded. ... (p.23)

(I read this just an hour ago. The rest of this reply, down to where I quote an extended version of this passage, was written several hours before I read that material. I must say, I was quite chuffed ("chuffed": (British) to be pleased with oneself.) to find this passage.

So here goes. I begun with my point about types; the point about ontological commitment comes after that.

-----
I said: