[Top] [All Lists]

[ontolog-admin] Issue with "post" being blocked [was - Re: FW: Delivery

To: Hans Polzer <hpolzer@xxxxxxxxxxx>
Cc: Todd J Schneider <todd.schneider@xxxxxxxxxxxx>, ontolog-admin@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
From: Peter Yim <peter.yim@xxxxxxxx>
Date: Tue, 6 Mar 2012 18:18:23 -0800
Message-id: <CAGdcwD1UPp9UD3TbivrFFw+6gq+rS3KtnAW6qgaXr-Fm6ihiTQ@xxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
Hans,    (01)

>From the looks of it, the particular mail server of your ISP that was
used to deliver your post was identified as a "spammer" by SORBS (one
of the more popular publicly available blacklists services.) Like all
well managed listservs, our mailing list system checks a range of
these public blacklists, and block messages from all mail servers that
are blacklisted, just to make sure *we* don't get spammed.    (02)

Since your ISP is verizon.net (similarly, large ISP's and email
services like gmail, yahoo!mail, hotmail, etc), they should know and
act on these things fairly promptly (for smaller ISP's, you might have
to nudge them to take action, and get themselves delisted quickly.)
Generally, if you post after a while (a couple of hour or so, say)
things might just work properly again.    (03)

If timeliness is of essence, you can try posting from a different
address (it needs to be a subscriber of the list, though), or get
someone (a friend, me, whoever) to relay that post for you.    (04)

You might also want to check an earlier exchange at:
which dealt with a similar situation for more details.    (05)

Regards. =ppy
--    (06)

On Tue, Mar 6, 2012 at 4:04 PM, Hans Polzer <hpolzer@xxxxxxxxxxx> wrote:
> Peter,
> I'm sorry to trouble you, but it seems that my emails to the forum are now
> being rejected as spam, per the email notification below. The email I was
> trying to send is in the attachment above. I also had another email rejected
> for the same reason. Is there something I need to do, or that you can do to
> fix this problem? My email provider, Verizon.net, claims that problem is at
> your end, but I told them I was not happy that they have IP addresses that
> show up on some spammer list.
> Hans Polzer
> -----Original Message-----
> From: postmaster@xxxxxxxxxxx [mailto:postmaster@xxxxxxxxxxx]
> Sent: Tuesday, March 06, 2012 2:03 PM
> To: hpolzer@xxxxxxxxxxx
> Subject: Delivery Notification: Delivery has failed
> This report relates to a message you sent with the following header fields:
>  Message-id: <014f01ccfbcb$b8c17200$2a445600$@verizon.net>
>  Date: Tue, 06 Mar 2012 14:02:46 -0500
>  From: "Hans Polzer" <hpolzer@xxxxxxxxxxx>
>  To: "'[ontolog-forum] '" <ontolog-forum@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
>  Subject: RE: [ontolog-forum] Constructs, primitives, terms
> Your message cannot be delivered to the following recipients:
>  Recipient address: ontolog-forum@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
>  Reason: Remote SMTP server has rejected address
>  Diagnostic code: smtp;554 Service unavailable; Client host []
> blocked using safe.dnsbl.sorbs.net; Currently Sending Spam See:
> http://www.sorbs.net/lookup.shtml?
>  Remote system: dns;forum01.cim3.com
> (TCP||50027||25) (mccarthy.cim3.com ESMTP Postfix)
To Post: mailto:ontolog-admin@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Message Archives: http://ontolog.cim3.net/forum/ontolog-admin/
Community Wiki: http://ontolog.cim3.net/wiki/
Shared Files: http://ontolog.cim3.net/file/  
Community Portal: http://ontolog.cim3.net/    (07)
<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>
  • [ontolog-admin] Issue with "post" being blocked [was - Re: FW: Delivery Notification: Delivery has failed], Peter Yim <=